2013

 Delia Blanca Mendoza Chapas

Delia 

My name is Delia Blanca Mendoza Chapas. I am originally from the community of San Rafael. I am currently in my third year of middle school.

I am on a team of three students that are going to work on a reforestation project in my community. We conducted the investigations ourselves.

In the first phase, we investigated 10 homes, the second phase 12 homes, and in the third phase 8 homes. We were able to get good feedback. In the first phase, we talked about three important themes: pollution, deforestation, and Mayan medicine.

Most of the feedback we got from the community were about deforestation because there are not many trees left on the hills. This is why they chose to address deforestation. The community members would be able to provide us with labor to plant the trees, and we also had the support from the COCODE (community leaders). For two weeks, we gave talks about how to plant trees.

 

Pedro Tum Galiegom

Pedro

“I know that I want to be a strong leader in my community. I want to work on projects that benefit others and allow them to live better lives. I plan to implement everything I have learned with Voces y Manos in order to help both my community and my family.”

My name is Pedro Tum Galiegom and I am 15 years old. I am from the Xesiguan village. My community is a beautiful place, where everyone is very involved. I study at the New Hope Foundation, and I feel very happy that I now have the opportunity to keep studying. This is why I work my hardest to achieve my goals.

I live with my small family. We are very close and they are supportive of me. They understand me well. When I was a child, I was very playful and a little bit of a handful. I liked running a lot, and one day, my mom told me to stop running or I would fall and hurt myself. I didn’t listen to her and I fell down and I got hurt. That left me a scar.

One time, my mom and grandparents had a big problem with some people from the community. When they started building a major road and most of the land belonged to my grandfather. He didn’t want the road to go through his land. My family was opposed to it, and the project to keep building the road was stopped. That is why the people from higher land in the mountains have to go up and down when they go to the market or other places.

Nowadays, people here have changed a lot because they respect each other and practice solidarity. Now everyone likes to work in groups. They built tomato greenhouses, plant coffee, fruit trees and many other things.

I have enjoyed being a student of the New Hope Foundation because it is an institution that not only teaches us how to study, but we also learn a lot about agriculture. They motivate us to be good students.

I had the opportunity to participate with Voces y Manos, and I am very thrilled because they are giving us talks and ideas of how to become good leaders. Not only that, but they also gave us the opportunity to share with one another. All of the effort that they put in means a lot of support for youth to have a goal for their future.

As a student, I want to become a good leader for my community, to find projects that will benefit them, and give them a chance for a better life. As of now, I want to put into practice everything I have learned with Voces y Manos. I want to put in all of my effort into achieving the goals I want for my community and family.

Lilian

Lilian

In the future, I want to be a doctor so that I can help keep children healthy. I am striving to work my absolute hardest because I believe that anything can be achieved in life through effort and perseverance. 

I am 15 years old and am from San Gabriel. I am currently studying in Rabinal, but on weekends, I live with my parents in San Gabriel, the town next to Rabinal.

I was born in Rabinal, in the Chuategua village. When I was a little girl, I liked dancing, playing and drawing, but the most beautiful part of my childhood was having fun playing kids’ games like climbing on the small train.

The most difficult event I have experienced was when I became sick with tuberculosis at barely a year and a half. When I got sick with tuberculosis, my parents had to take me to the hospital. My little sister was still breast feeding at that time because she was just a newborn. I was also very little then.

In my community, everyone participates and works. For example, women weave the traditional clothing (guipiles and fajas) and napkins and the men work on the agricultural field.

I was astonished with my experience with the New Hope Foundation since I had never dreamt about studying where I was born, Rabinal. It is also very nice because we work both with text-books and in the fields. That is is why I push myself to keep studying.

thank God for giving me the chance to participate with Voces y Manos. They are very humble people that bring a new opportunity to the life of many young students who have the dream and vision of an opportunity to keep studying, who because of economic reasons wouldn’t have had otherwise.  This is why I am so thankful!

I would like to share the dream I hope to achieve. I want to become a doctor to help other children and people to have good health. My parents want me to have an education. I am making big efforts towards my goal, and also to serve as an example to show that in life everything is possible when you make the efforts and persevere.

What Rabinal needs is development achieved through the young people with a positive leadership through preparation and solidarity of the Guatemalan people and of other countries.

Manuel Osorio Ixpata

Manuel-jpg

My name is Manuel Osorio Ixpata and I am 17 years old. I was born in  Pakalkim between the Pahoi and Xesiguan villages

I first attended school at age 6, and was very shy and serious. I liked to work with my dad in the afternoons. He was very intelligent, and taught me how to read and write. I finished elementary school in 2008.

Unfortunately, in 2009, due to economic issues within my family, I couldn’t attend school. I stayed taking care of the animals and building our house for some months during that year. In 2010, my Mom gave me three school options to continue my studies; two of them were only on the weekend and the third one was daily, The New Hope Foundation.

At the beginning, I was very scared, but I quickly realized I had made the right decision. I was impacted by their many productive activities, and now I feel satisfied about all I have learned. The material I have learned is of great importance, and it will serve me well as a guide to achieve my life’s goal.

I am currently in my third year of middle school, and I have been chosen for a scholarship to keep on studying. I got to know Voces y Manos and I enjoy how they work with us. I hope to have many successes in life and to be a good young man. 

 Florinda

Florina

I encourage the youth to keep studying so that way they are able to move forward

I was born in Chuacotzij, Rabinal, and am 16 years old. I live with my mom, my grandma, brothers and sisters. When I was a child, I liked to play and sing. My favorite part about my childhood was studying. I haven’t really experienced difficult issues throughout my life.

My community is a very beautiful place where everything is surrounded by trees. The majority of the people there participate in different community projects, but most people work in agriculture.

My experience as a student at the New Hope Foundation has been very important to me because my first year in middle school on a project I learned how to work with vegetables, my second year of middle school I learned with another project on how to fatten chickens, and now, and my third year in middle school I am learning how to vaccinate animals. I think the method used to learn is very important because we work as a team.

I will never forget my experience with Voces y Manos because I learned many new things with the investigations that took place in the community, and also all of the support we get from volunteers.

My dream is to continue studying the career in agricultural and community development engineering to support my family and the community.

Karina Leticia Hernandez Lajuj

Karina jpg

My name is Karina Leticia Hernandez Lajuj, and I am originally from Rabinal. My parents tell me that when I was two and a half I liked running,jumping, and bouncing. I was a real handful.

When I was 4 years old, I was admitted to a special school. From then on, I started to interact with the boys and girls, and that is how I learned to respect others. At the same time, I learned important academic skills. I just kept learning and learning.

Later, I started elementary school, where I continued to learn. But, I was a very stubborn student and didn’t pay attention to the teacher. Because of it, I lost a year of school. This was a great lesson in life because it taught me to stop being so stubborn. Years went by, and I worked really hard, and was able to finish elementary school in 2009 when I was 12 years old.

I started middle school at the New Hope Foundation in 2010. I am currently in my third year of middle school here. During these last years studying here, I have been provided with very meaningful learning. They have also taught me how to put in practice values learned. It is for this reason that I have learned many important things, and I thank God for giving me my life, and my family who supports me in continuing my studies.

Santos Oswaldo Osorio

Santos

My name is Santos Oswaldo Osorio, and I am 17 years old. I come from the community of Pacux in Rabinal. I am the second oldest of six children, and have two brothers and three sisters. My native language is Achi, and I began learning Spanish at age 7.

I enjoy learning about other people and about soccer. I like to draw, especially cartoons, movie characters and also churches and birds. I also like to make clay figures like squirrels, rabbits, tigers and elephants. I see ceramics as a good challenge.

In school, I enjoy my “Formation of Citizenship” class. We learn about ways to avoid conflicts and the importance of the five values: respect, gender equality, working in teams, solidarity and leadership. I also enjoy working with animals, and I enjoy having birds, rabbits, dogs and a bull at my house. I like to learn about construction, and during vacations, I would dedicate my time to working in this field.

A family tradition we have is to celebrate our birthdays. It is a special day for everyone  to be together and be happy with the family. We give each other a good, strong hug, and always take advantage of the moments we spend together because we never know what the future will bring us. Many times we celebrate eating pinol (a traditional Guatemalan dish) with rice.

Miriam Cristina Cuia de la Cruz

Miriam

“My dream is to be an elementary school teacher so that I can provide for my family and help others in my community. I want to teach young kids how to be successful leaders.

My name is Miriam Cristina Cuia de la Cruz, and I am 15 years old. I am in my third year of middle school. I am from the San Rafael community where I live with my family.

Ever since I was a little girl, I have liked soccer since it is a great sport. People in the community like to participate in projects that benefit not only themselves but the community as a whole. The women like making güipiles, napkins, and other things.

I feel very happy to study at the educational center New Hope Foundation because it is an establishment where we work on productive projects. I am also very thankful that I am able to participate with Voces y Manos because they help young people keep studying to be able to help their families one day.